2007 in review meme

1. What did you do in 2007 that you'd never done before?
Not a whole lot:
Parented an eight-year-old
Road trip to Portland
Took care of my mother while she recovered from surgery

2. Did you keep your new years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I don't remember my resolutions for 2007, but chances are I didn't keep them. I'm not making any this year.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Yes

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No *knock wood*

5. What countries did you visit?
Mexico

6. What would you like to have in 2008 that you lacked in 2007?
A lawyer

7. What date from 2007 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
After some thought, I'd have to say "none"

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Filing my divorce papers, even if Allen ignored it.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Not following up on the filing of the divorce papers.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Just this fucking chronic cough. And the stupid depression, which came back with a vengeance after moving off of Prozac and onto Wellbutrin.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
Beautiful Katamari

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
Sophie's She impresses me every day.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
Sophie's father's, as usual. And a friend's ex – his post-split behavior is nauseatingly typical in its selfishness and cruelty.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Rent

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
I don't remember feeling really, really, really excited about anything.

16. What song will always remind you of 2007?
None, in particular, but I'll pick "Timorous Me" by Ted Leo

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
i.happier or sadder? Sadder
ii. thinner or fatter?  Thinner
iii. richer or poorer? Poorer

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?
Caring for my appearance, and fixing my medication approach.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?
Regretting and tolerating.

20. How did you spend Christmas?
At home, eating and drinking and laughing with loved ones.

21. How did you spend NYE?
At home, eating and drinking and laughing with loved ones.

22. Did you fall in love in 2007?
Nope

23. How many one-night stands?
None. My vibrator and I have a solid long-term relationship.

24. What was your favorite TV program?
Pushing Daisies and Project Runway.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?
Hate? No, just the same person I hated last year. I am painfully disappointed in a couple people, though, to the extent that my opinion of them will never, ever recover.

26. What was the best book you read?
Ghostwritten

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
The Once soundtrack.

28. What did you want and get?
A cancer-free declaration for my mom.

29. What did you want and not get?
Relief

30. What was your favorite film of this year?
Once

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
Did I do anything? I can never remember which year particular things happened. Tho that weekend this year I was at the Girl Scout Camporee, which honestly kind of sucked.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Selfishness being made illegal, and having Allen arrested.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2007?
Does this smell OK?

34. What kept you sane?
This question assumes a level of sanity I do not think I currently possess.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
The Viggo.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
Our continued determination to kill as many people as possible to make a few guys rich still kinda sucks.

37. Who did you miss?
I want to make some joke about aiming for someone and missing them, but I'm too tired.

38. Who was the best new person you met?
My coworker Sarah, who came with her already-made Prince of the Cosmos costume.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2007?
It isn't worth it to  A. tolerate disrespect, and B. reject love.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
(the first bit applies to a couple very specific people and events, and the second applies a little more broadly)

I might as well go up and talk to a wall
Coz all the words are having no effect at all
It's a funny thing.. am I all alone?

Something has to happen to change the direction
What little filters though is giving you the wrong impression
"it's a sorry state" I say to myself
-Missing Persons, "Words" (thx to pfarley for posting an MP video today, leading me to remember this all-too-pertinent lyric).

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 responses to this post.

  1. funny now that you mention it, i was just wondering recently about jerkface allen and the divorce papers. i think our friends might have some suggestions for a good lawyer or two…

    Reply

  2. i actually have one lined up, believe it or not. i'm just trying to figure out when i can get in to see her…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

